LSBA Home
LSBA Menu

MCLE Reporting Requirements


The compliance requirement for attorneys admitted in 2020 is 12.5 hours, including 8 hours of ethics, professionalism or law office management, which can be earned in the year of admission and the following calendar year. All credit hours must be earned by December 31, 2021 and reported no later than January 31, 2022.

Due to COVID-19, the Louisiana Supreme Court has issued an Order increasing the limitation on self-study credits from 4 to 12.5 hours for the calendar year of 2020. Ethics, professionalism, and law office management credits may be obtained in this manner. It is highly recommended that attorneys obtain these course credits through the pre-approved courses listed on the MCLE Calendar. Courses obtained through other venues may not qualify, regardless of the sponsoring organization.

Attorneys admitted in 2020 who have not practiced law in Louisiana and have not practiced Louisiana law in any other jurisdiction since their admission, may qualify for the exemption from the MCLE requirements in December of 2021, at which time the exemption application form will be made available online.
The compliance requirement for attorneys admitted in 2019 is 12.5 hours, including 8 hours of ethics, professionalism or law office management, which can be earned in the year of admission and the following calendar year. All credit hours must be earned by December 31, 2020 and reported no later than January 31, 2021.

Due to COVID-19, the Louisiana Supreme Court has issued an Order increasing the limitation on self-study credits from 4 to 12.5 hours for the calendar year of 2020. Ethics, professionalism, and law office management credits may be obtained in this manner. It is highly recommended that attorneys obtain these course credits through the pre-approved courses listed on the MCLE Calendar. Courses obtained through other venues may not qualify, regardless of the sponsoring organization.

Attorneys admitted in 2019 who do not practice law in Louisiana and have not practiced Louisiana law in any other jurisdiction since their admission, may qualify for the exemption from the MCLE requirements in December of 2020, at which time the exemption application form will be made available online.
The annual compliance requirement is 12.5 hours, including 1 hour of ethics and 1 hour of professionalism. All credit hours must be earned by December 31, 2020 and reported no later than January 31, 2020.

Due to COVID-19, the Louisiana Supreme Court has issued an Order increasing the limitation on self-study credits from 4 to 12.5 hours for the calendar year of 2020. Ethics and professionalism credits may be obtained in this manner. It is highly recommended that attorneys obtain these course credits through the pre-approved courses listed on the MCLE Calendar. Courses obtained through other venues may not qualify, regardless of the sponsoring organization.

In-House Counsel Admitted to Practice Under LASC 12, Section 14 must earn 12.5 hours annually, including 1 hour of ethics and 1 hour of professionalism, and must follow the same reporting requirements as all other attorneys. They do not qualify for the MCLE exemption. 
Louisiana State Bar Association
601 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
(800) 421-LSBA(5722) / (504) 566-1600